Sunraysia Branch


The Sunraysia Branch was formalised in December 2006 and is based in Mildura in Victoria’s sunny northwest. We have a very active and enthusiastic team of JPs and BJs who meet regularly at the Mildura RSL.  New members are always very welcome. Please come along and join our happy team.

Executive Team

Sunraysia Branch

Chair: Anthony (Tony) Robbins JP (M) 0427 281 273
Vice-Chair: Mrs Jennifer Bennett PSM, JP (M) 0499 880 130
Secretary: Mrs Cheryl Webb JP (M) 0419 531 020
Assistant Secretary:  Peter Griffin JP (M) 0409 538 367
Treasurer: Trevor Aust OAM, JP, FRVAHJ (M) 0407 860 447
DSS Co-ordinator: Trevor Aust OAM, JP, FRVAHJ (M) 0408 860 447
Trainers: Tony Robbins, Peter Griffin, Sandra Lawlor

New members are always welcome at our Branch. Information sharing sessions are included in the quarterly meetings where thoughts & ideas are shared between members and support given to all Justices. Please feel free to call Tony on 0427 281 273, Trevor on 0407 860 447 or Cheryl on 0419 531 020 to inquire about joining our Branch.


Branch Meetings

RVAHJ Sunraysia meets on a quarterly basis at the Mildura RSL, Cnr 10th Street & Madden Avenue, Mildura.  Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of March, June, September and December.  March & December meetings commence at 6.00pm with June & September meetings commencing at 12:00noon.  The Annual General Meeting is held in December together with the quarterly meeting.  Meetings are followed by dinner/lunch at the Wirraway Bistro at the RSL.  Partners are more than welcome to attend for the meal.

Next Quarterly meeting:  8 June 2021.

Branch News

2009 – The inaugural “Thank You Morning Tea” hosted by Superintendent Paul Naylor (third from the right at the rear), for Justices who attend the Document Signing Station at the Mildura Police Station. Various awards to Justices are acknowledged during the Morning Tea, which is held mid-December each year when Justices and members of VicPol have an opportunity to catch up.

2017The Governor visits Mildura 

Jenny Bennett, The Hon. Linda Dessau, AC & Tony Robbins.

Annual General Meeting 2020

The Sunraysia Branch AGM was held on 8 December, 2020 at the Aero Ovals Tennis Clubroom due to COVID restrictions.  The election for the 2021 executive was chaired by Robert (Bob) Merlin BJ, with the following members being duly re-elected:

Chairman – Anthony (Tony) Robbins JP, Vice Chairman – Mrs Jennifer Bennett PSM, JP, Secretary – Mrs Cheryl Webb JP, Assistant Secretary – Peter Griffin JP, Treasurer – Trevor Aust OAM, JP, FRVAHJ and Publicity Officer – Mrs Jennifer Bennett PSM, JP.

Life Membership Award

Trevor Aust OAM, JP, FRVAHJ was left speechless when Chair, Tony Robbins JP, presented him with a RVAHJ Life Membership Award.  Trevor who goes above and beyond and is always on hand to assist and mentor fellow Justices is an extremely worthy recipient of this prestigious Award.


A long awaited Training Session was held at the Euston Club on 22 May 2021.  21 Justices from Sunraysia, Swan Hill, Robinvale and Underbool attended.  RVAHJ President, Paul Mracek, Secretary Kevin Mackin were joined by Neil Mesley of Swan Hill branch, in presenting a very comprehensive day long session on a variety of relevant topics. 

Congratulations to Tony Robbins, Peter Griffin and Sandra Lawlor who received certification as Trainers on the day which will be a bonus to local Justices.     


Branch Awards

The “John Malcolm Trophy” is a perpetual Trophy awarded to a Justice who has made a considerable contribution to the branch during the year.  The Award was created when the “JP Car Badge“, belonging to the late John Malcolm was gifted to the Sunraysia Branch in 2014.  The Badge was placed on a beautiful piece of local yellow gum provided by Chair, Tony Robbins JP and includes a plaque engraved by one of our members, Peter Griffin JP.

John Malcolm Trophy Honour Board

2015 Trevor Aust
2016 The Hon. Kenneth Wright
2017 Janine & Robert Reid
2018 Geoffrey Jones
2019 Jenny Bennett
2020  Tony Robbins

 Jenny Bennett presenting Chair, Tony Robbins with his Award




Document Signing Stations

Support and assistance is given to all Justices who attend the Sunraysia Branch Document Signing Station. Please call Trevor if you would like to volunteer at our DSS, which is currently located at:

annecto Service Centre

Shop G-021 (Target end)
Mildura Central Plaza
Cnr 15th Street & Deakin Avenue

Monday – Friday 1:00pm – 4:00pm
Except Public Holidays



Although no Justices reached the 100 or 200 Club milestone during the year, DSS Co-ordinator, Trevor Aust JP, warmly thanked the Justices who were able to continue volunteering at the DSS during COVID and Vice- Chair, Jenny Bennett JP, made a presentation of a Certificate and Pen to:
Tony Robbins JP, Tony Dal Corobbo JP, David McMillan JP, Sandra Lawlor JP, Peter Griffin JP, Penny Hodgetts JP, Geoff Quennell JP and Cheryl Webb JP

DSS Co-ordinator, Trevor Aust JP also noted that both David McMillan JP and Tressna Martin JP were elibile for the 10 Year Service Award.  Unfortunately, Tressna was not in attendance at the meeting but Chair, Tony Robbins, presented David with his 10 Year Service Award certificate.


A morning tea was held at annecto to thank Toni Amos and her staff for welcoming the local Justices into their office, enabling the Document Signing Station to continue to operate in the Mildura community. 

Chair, Tony Robbins JP, presented Toni with a Certificate of Thanks.